Buddo SS wins 2018 Copa Coca-Cola

first_img Tags: Buddo SScopa coca-colatop Buddo SS has now won two championships (courtesy photo).Copa Coca-Cola 2018Blessed Sacrament Kimanya 0-1 BuddoKakyeka Stadium, MbararaSaturday, 19-05-2018.Buddo SS clinched their second Copa Coca-Cola title on Saturday after defeating Blessed Sacrament Kimanya 1-0 I the finals.Frank Ssebufu’s 09th minute strike was all that the Wakiso based school needed to add onto their 2009 crown.Despite the previous heroics shown by Kimanya, they could not bleach a well organised Buddo defence that saw out the game like they have done all campaign.This was Buddo’s second championship in the history of the 25 year old tournament after winning it for the first time in 2009.To get to the finals, Buddo eliminated Agape in the semi final match played on Friday, when they required spot kicks to eliminate the Namutamba district based school.For the losing finalists, Kimanya who played almost the entire tournament with only 11 players minus substitutes, shocked 2017 winners Jinja SS 1-0 in the semi finals.This was the first time that Kimanya reached the finals of this championship, which is the biggest football show piece amongst secondary schools.In the third play-off game, Agape S.S defeated to deal the third and final berth that will see them represent the country at this year’s East African championship.A total of 59 schools took part in the annual championship that has been played for now 25 years.This year’s tournament has been hosted by Mbarara High School who were eliminated by Agape at the quarter finals stage.Present and retired Uganda Cranes stars as Joseph Kabagembe, David Obua, Richard Malinga, Allan Okello, Tonny Mawejje, Muhammed Shaban, Faruku Miya, Joseph Ochaya, Kezironi Kizito, William Luwagga Kizito, Denis Iguma and many others have played this championship.The Knock out results of this year’s championships:Round of 16:• Blessed Sacrament Kimanya 1-0Ryakasinga CHE• Jinja Secondary School 2-1 Hill View College• Jinja Progressive Academy 2-3Agape S.S• Buddo S.S 3-0 Mbarara High School• St Julian High School 0 (5) – 0 (4)Old Kampala S.S• Hands of Grace 0 (15) – 0 (16)Welden• St Mary’s Kitende 0 (5) – 0 (6) Lira Town College• Kigezi High School 2-0 St Paul High School.Quarterfinals:o Welden High School, Mbarara 0-1Agape S.So Blessed Sacrament Kimanya 0 (4) – 0 (1) St Julian, Gayazao Jinja S.S 2-0 Lira Town Collegeo Buddo S.S 2-0 Kigezi High SchoolSemi-finals:o Jinja S.S 0-1 Blessed Sacrament Kimanyao Buddo S.S 0 (3) – 0 (1) Agape S.SThe Group stages:GROUP A:1.Kamuge High School – Bukedi2.Blessed Sacrement Secondary School – Masaka3.Panyango Secondary School- West Nile.4.Mbarara High School – Mbarara5.ST.Peters Secondary School – Hoima.6.Adwari Secondary School – Lango.7.Bakita.GROUP B:1.Lubiru Secondary School – Kampala2.Masaka Secondary School – Masaka3. Kamwenge Secondary and Vocational School- Rwenzori4.Welden High School- Mbarara5.Jinja Secondary School- Busoga6.Green Valley High School – Mukono7.ST.Joseph Buyala- Mbale8.Bishop Angelo Negri College- Acholi.GROUP C:1.St Julian High School – Wakiso2.Saviour High School – Luweero3.St. Paul Secondary School- Rwenzori4.Kitala Model Secondary School – Bumyoro5.Royal Giant High School – Mityana6.Rock High School- Bukedi7. Maluku Secondary School -Mbale.GROUP D:1.Light Secondary School – Teso2.Kakungulu Memorial School- Kampala3-Kisozi Seed Secondary School – Mpigi4.Lira Town College- Mango5.Kakungulu Memorial School – Kampala6.Jinja Progressive- Busoga7.UUUMO Progressive Secondary School – Bushenyi.GROUP E:1.Iganga Town View Secondary School- Busoga2.Sebei College School- Sebei3.Kibuli Secondary School- Kampala4.Buddo Secondary School- Wakiso5.Nakaseke International College- Luweero6.Amuria High School-Teso7.Ryakisinga CHE- Bushenyi.GROUP F:1.Mentor High School- Lango2.Kawempe Moslem Secondary School – Kampala3.ST.Marys Kitende- Wakiso4.Hill View College- Bulangira- Bukedi5.Hope Senior Secondary School – Mpigi6.ST.Gerald’s Nakibale- Kigezi7.ST.Edwards Bukuumi- Bunyoro.GROUP G:Hands Of Grace Secondary School- Mukono2.London College Nansana- Wakiso3.Old Kampala Secondary School Kampala4.Serere Secondary School Teso5.ST Joseph’s College – Layibi-6.High Standard Secondary School Katera- Luweero7.ST Marys Secondary School Simbya-Rwenzori8.Sironko Progressive – Mbale.GROUP H:1.Standard High School Zzana- Wakiso2.Kigezi High School – Kigezi3.Paidha Secondary School- West Nile4.Namagabi Secondary School – Mukono5.ST.Joseph Buyaga- Mbale6.Agape Secondary School – Busoga7.Biyaya Secondary School- West Nile.Comments last_img


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *