Ellen Performs Last Award Ceremony

first_imgFormer President Sirleaf with some ex-officials. Confers honors on outgoing officials of GovernmentThe now former President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf on Sunday, bestowed national honors on some of her officials in the Cecil Dennis Auditorium at the Foreign Ministry in recognition of the their “dedicated services” during her administration.This was the former President’s last official function at the Foreign Ministry prior to turning over power to President George Weah yesterday.Among the honorees, in accordance with categories were the Most Venerable Order of the Pioneers: Marjon Vashti Kamara, Minister of Foreign Affairs; Dame Grand Commander; Sylvester M. Grigsby, Minister of State for Presidential Affairs, Knight Commander; McKinley D. Thomas, Liberia’s Ambassador to the People’s Republic of China, Knight Commander.Other honorees are Youngor S. Telewoda, Liberia’s Ambassador to Japan, Dame Commander; Eugene Lenn Nagbe, Minister of Information, Cultural Affairs and Tourism, Knight Commander; Patrick Sendolo, Minister of Lands, Mines and Energy, Knight Commander; Varney A. Sirleaf, Acting Minister of Internal Affairs, Knight Commander; Puchu Leona Bernard, Director General, Civil Service Agency, Dame Commander; and Dr. Wvannie-Mae Scott McDonald, Chief Executive Officer of John F. Kennedy Medical Center, Dame Commander.In the category of Star of Africa, President Sirleaf admitted the following as Grand Commanders: Education Minister George K. Werner, Commerce Minister Axel Addy, Public Works Minister Gyude W. Moore, Gender, Children and Social Protection, Minister Julia Duncan Cassell, and Chairperson of the National Investment Commission, Etmonia David Tarpeh.The Humane Order of African Redemption category comprised Minister of Youth and Sports, Saah Charles N’Tow, Knight Grand Commander; Managing Director of the National Social Security and Welfare Corporation, Dewitt von Ballmoos, Knight Grand Commander; Chief of Protocol of Liberia, Jervis A. Witherspoon, Knight Grand Commander; and Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, B. Elias Shoniyin, Knight Commander.The Star of Africa is also one of the highest honors to which officials including Superintendents at this time were admitted. Those admitted included Nimba County Superintendent, D. Dorr Cooper, Commander; Buchanan City Mayor, Julia Kpui Bono, Commander; Bureau of Concessions Executive Director, Ciata A. Bishop, Commander; Law Enforcer/Criminal Justice Practitioner, James Y. Hunder, Sr., Commander; Chairperson of National Civil Society Council of Liberia, Frances R. Deigh Greaves, Commander; Executive Assistant to the President, Euphemia N. Brewer-Fasama, Officer; Deputy Chief of Protocol, Ethel Holt-Toles, Officer; and former Special Assistant to the Minister, Cornelia Kruah-Togba, Officer.Following the conferments, President Sirleaf indicated that the honorees, some of whom were not present at the ceremony, served with distinction and dedication in the interest of her administration and the country.She, however, did not clarify how the honorees impacted the country or her administration.Critics contend that some of those honored, by reason of their very poor performance, did not deserve such honors such as Education Minister George Werner who leaves behind a “messy education system”.Share this:Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)last_img


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *